⚡️ Ep3. Chad Nelson: A.I. Art Superpowers

Discover OpenAI DALL·E’s First-Ever AI Animated Film & Vogue Cover Collab with AI Artist Chad Nelson

Creativity Squared: On Enhancing Human Creativity

“A.I. tools aren’t replacing me — they're giving me superpowers.”

-Chad Nelson

Dear Creativity Squared Member,

Chad and I met after the release of one of his recent creative ventures, the animated short film "CRITTERZ." This short is a groundbreaking achievement as the first film with visuals generated entirely by OpenAI DALL·E, then brought to life by incorporating classic Hollywood animation techniques.

What I really appreciate about Chad is his intent to educate and inspire whether that’s through his Instagram account @dailydall.e or through CRITTERZ.

Anddd…we waited to release this episode because OpenAI’s Dall·E has changed the trajectory of Chad’s career…and hitting newsstands this May, you can see Chad’s A.I. artwork featuring real photos of Bella Hadid on the cover of Vogue Italia!

When it comes to visual artists at the forefront of collaborating with A.I., look no further than Chad who sees A.I. empowering him with superpowers to push his own output and creativity…and who never in his life imagined that his art would end up on a Vogue cover!

Today, you’ll get to hear all about Chad’s creative process, what questions he’s thinking about related to A.I., how he approaches prompts, the making of CRITTERZ, and so much more — enjoy!

With all of the A.I. news flooding our feeds and screens, we’ve got you covered. News to check out includes:

The intention of Creativity Squared is to be an active participant in the conversation and ignite our collective imagination at the intersection of A.I. and creativity to envision a world where artists thrive. Because it’s important to support artists, 10% of all revenue Creativity Squared generates goes to ArtsWave, a nationally recognized non-profit that supports over 100 arts organizations. Consider becoming a Premium Member today! 

I’d love to hear from you so don’t be shy to reply to this email and let me know your feedback and any person or topic at the intersection of creativity and A.I. you’d like for us to explore on this platform.

I’m still learning Beehiiv, the newsletter platform we’re using, and am introducing referral rewards. The first is a virtual coffee date with me — scroll down for the details!

We’re just getting started, and if you enjoy our content, I’d really appreciate it if you could share, review, like, subscribe, leave a comment, and help spread the word about Creativity Squared in whatever way you’re willing to. Your support is greatly appreciated, and the whole team looks forward to growing with your help. Thank you!

Here's to exponential possibilities!

Helen

Helen Todd (she/her)
Human behind Creativity Squared
linkedin / twitter / pinterest / instagram
https://CreativitySquared.com
How creatives are collaborating with A.I.

Listen: Ep3. A.I. Art Superpowers
Discover Chad Nelson’s Collab with OpenAI DALL·E on the First-Ever A.I. Animated Short Film & Vogue Cover

“I have produced more art and more visuals and pushed myself creatively further than I've ever had in any single year in my life thanks to these tools. To me, it fuels the soul as a creative. This has become my creative routine. It keeps my mind fresh.”

Listen to our full conversation with Chad Nelson on his creative process, what question he’s thinking about in terms of A.I., how he approaches prompts, and his work on CRITTERZ and for Vogue Italia.

Become a Premium Member to Unlock Exclusive Content and Claim Your NFT

Become a Premium Member to unlock exclusive content and to claim your NFTs of episode cover art!

At $10 per month or discounted to $100 for annual memberships, Premium Members enjoy other benefits too:

  • $1 per month (or $10 per year) to ArtsWave

  • Premium Member NFT

  • First-Dibs at Event Invites

  • Access to Monthly Exclusive Content (e.g. Helen’s Monthly Must-Know Video Report on the hottest A.I. news)

  • Discounts from Creativity Squared Partners

There is also a VIP Founding Member tier for those who want lifetime first dibs and access to Creativity Squared content, events, and whatever we dream up!

Because it’s important to support artists, 10% of all revenue Creativity Squared generates will go to ArtsWave, a nationally recognized non-profit that supports over 100 arts organizations.

View: Vogue Italia May 2023 Cover Features Bella Hadid and A.I. Artwork
Conde Nast Partnered with OpenAI and A.I. Artist Chad Nelson the Vogue Italia’s May 2023 Cover featuring Bella Hadid

Chad Nelson, an award-winning creative director and technology strategist, had the privilege to use DALL·E to help create the May 2023 cover for Vogue Italia featuring Bella Hadid! Check out more images from the project!

Talk of the Town: Fake Drake Song
How AI-generated music could shape the future of the music industry and why it’s not all bad news

“The collision between computers and music is the story of our culture entirely.”

- Nilay Patel

In the Vox’s Today, Explained podcast on the Fake Drake song, The Verge’s Nilay Patel shares: “The collision between computers and music is the story of our culture entirely. Whatever happens to the music industry because of computers happens to everything else five years later. You can just see it over time. The iPod came out, [then] the music industry was overturned. Many years later, you could download movies. Music moved to streaming — the whole industry was overturned.”

Get up-to-speed about everything you need to know about the Fake Drake song taking the internet by storm.

Thank You to Sociality Squared

Creativity Squared is brought to you by Sociality Squared, a social media agency who understands the magic of bringing people together around what they value and love: http://socialitysquared.com

Interested in partnering with Creativity Squared, reach out!

Subscribe to Premium to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Premium to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In.

A subscription gets you:

  • • $1 per month (or $10 per year) to ArtsWave
  • • Premium Member NFT
  • • First-Dibs at Event Invites & Discounts from Creativity Squared Partners
  • • Early Access to Monthly Exclusive Content (e.g. Helen’s Monthly Must-Know Video Report on the hottest A.I. news)